## AGM, 14th July 2007, Coimbatore

The meeting held at PSG Institute of Medical Sciences & Research, Coimbatore was presided by Dr. RM.Meyyappan, President, South Zone Urological Society of India

The meeting was called to order. Sufficient quorum was found to conduct the General Body Meeting at Coimbatore.

The minutes of the previous General Body Meeting Held at Thiruvananthapuram was approved unanimously by the General Body was proposed by Dr. G.K.Venkatesh and seconded by Dr. Ramesh.

Dr. K.Pitchai Balashanmugam, Secretary of ASU read out the activities of ASU for the year 2006-2007. The report was passed which was proposed by Dr. Shivasankar and seconded by Dr. Keshavamurthy.

Dr. S.Ravikumar, Treasurer tabled the audited Statement of the accounts for the year 2006- 2007 which was printed in the news letter. The Treasurer's report was passed unanimously which was proposed by Dr. D.Thanikachalam and seconded by Dr. N.Srithar.

The Secretary read out the list of new members for the Life membership and the Associate membership which was approved by the General Body .

Elections to the post President Elect and Council members was held. The Secretary informed the General Body that for the post of President Elect Dr. D.Ramesh from Bangalore was the only applicant and it was found valid by the returning officer Dr. T.R.Murali President Elect of ASU. Dr. D.Ramesh was elected unanimously which was approved by the General Body . For posts of Council members there were only one application from each State - Dr. K.Thiagarajan for Tamilnadu, Dr. C.Mallikarjuna from Andhra Pradesh, Dr. Chandrasekar Ratkal from Karnataka, Dr. H.Krishna Moorthy from Kerala and their nominations were approved. The General Body ratified these elections and congratulated the newly elected members.

Dr. Shyam K Ramesh, Organizing Secretary of SZ - USICON 2006 presented a cheque of Rs.1,30,000.00 as the profit from last Annual Conference of Association of Souther Urologists (SZUSICON) held at Thiruvananthapuram. The draft was received by Dr. RM.Meyyappan.

Dr. O.Ramesh, Organizing Secretary of SZ-USICON 2008 at Tirupathy made a brief presentation of the Conference at Tirupathy and welcomed members to Tirupathy for Annual Conference of Association of Souther Urologists (SZUSICON) 2008.

Dr. Ali Poonawala, Secretary of Karnataka Urology Association informed the General Body that Karnataka would host SZ-USICON 2009. He informed the General Body that the venue would be decided at the Annual KUACON and communicated to the Secretary.

The Orator for the Prof. H.S.Bhat Oration would be Dr. K.M.Krishna Rao. Vishakapatnam.

The moderator for the Khivraj Memorial Symposium for the year 2008 was awarded to Prof. N.Vijayasankaran from Madurai. The Topic was Posterior Urethral Injuries.

Prof. K.Ravishankar Uroradiology Quiz will be conducted by Dr. P.V.L.N.Murthy from Hyderabad.

Prof. N.Krishnamurthy Point Counter Point Debate was awarded to Dr. Rajagopal from Hyderabad.

Prof. P.B.Sivaraman endowment guest lecture was awarded to Dr. A.K.Hemal from New Delhi.

Prof. Joseph Thomas proposed a separate session for Dr. N.Sethuraman Best Paper Award. After detailed discussion, the General Body decided to have a separate session. The General Body decided to form a committee to frame the rules and regulations for Dr. N.Sethuraman Best Paper Award.

Dr. D.Thanikachalam proposed that the duration of the annual Conference may be extended to two days instead of the present  $1\frac{1}{2}$  days. But after elaborate discussions, the General Body felt that the Conference should be held only for  $1\frac{1}{2}$  days.

Dr. D.Thanikachalam proposed that the Clinicopathological Conference may be named after Dr. Nalini Venugopal but it was not accepted.

Dr. RM.Meyyappan thanked all the members and concluded the session